Questionable Questioning

Realistically Imagined

Q:  Are you ready, inmate?

A:  Came fully unprepared. Can’t wait.

Q; Please, state your name for the record.

A:  Nothing’s changed, still a proper noun.

Q:  How old are you?

A:  As old as everyone else in my age.

Q:  Married?

A:  Like a necklace around her neck.

Q:  And her name is?

A:  Too intoxicating to sing it out.

Q:  Children?

A:  Three on earth and two in heaven.

Q:  Siblings?

A:  I’m their fettered brother.

Q:  Any terror-suspect among them?

A:  They’re all Muslim, if that fits the bill?

Q:  Are you being sarcastic?

A:  Are you being serious?

Q:  Where does your sister live?

A:  Leave her alone. Let her live.

Q:  Have you spoken to your brother, lately?

A:  Why? What happened? Is he alright?

Q:  How did your daughter die?

A:  Waiting for me to kiss her goodbye,

Q:  And did she get her last kiss?

A:  No, the razor wires caught my lips.

Q:   Are you afraid of the dark?

A:  Only if it makes me hide from the light.

Q:  So, you can be a chicken at times, can’t you?

A:  We both came from a fertilized egg, didn’t we?

Q:  Are you pro-choice or pro-life?

A:  I choose to live and live to choose.

Q:  What’s your favorite color?

A:  The color of blood before its awful shedding.

Q:  Do you like the moon?

A:  So long it’s not colonized.

Q:  Have you been psychoanalyzed?

A:  Three times, but she couldn’t take it

     anymore.  Poor analyst, my voice

     inside her head left her traumatized.

Q:   Are you a follower or a leader?

A:  I follow my own leads.

Q:  Are you the bow? the arrow? the archer?

A:  I’m the target.

Q:  Do you know how to use a weapon.

A:  Of course, but sometimes the loaded

     metaphors I use backfire on me.

Q:  Do you hate your enemies?

A:  Hate is bad for global warming; good

     for war industrialists, which I’m not.

Q:  Do you believe your enemies have right to exist?

A:  Do my enemies believe I have the right

     to believe they have the right to exist?

Q:  How would you assess US-foreign policy in the Middle East?

A:  Too foreign, all west, no middle, no east.

Q:  But do you believe peace is still possible?

A:  So long as the “I” isn’t God, and the Devil isn’t

    every-last-one of “them”.

Q:  How did the Criminal Justice System work for you.

A:  Systemic: no crime by me, no justice for me.

Q:  Now tell us how you wish to die.

A:  Serving a fresh glass of rain

    to the last rose under siege.

Q:  Finally, are you a terrorist?

A:  Why? Did the sun rise from the west?

Q:  Any more questions, inmate?

A:  No thanks, you can go now.

   Shukri 6/22/22.

This entry was posted in Stories & Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.